e-ARC Review & Giveaway: CHANGING TIDES by Sarah Darlington

 

ChangingTides_FrontCover_LoResTitle:  Changing Tides (Kill Devil Hills #2)
Author: Sarah Darlington
Publishing Date: March 16, 2015
Genre: New Adult, Contemporary, Romance
Source: e-ARC from author
Buy Links: Amazon US | B & N | Kobo ($0.99 on release day)

“Nate West. Hollywood bad-boy. Television megastar. Womanizer. Basically everything I hate about the male species rolled into one handsome package. And yet…I want him.”

Ellie Turner is a lesbian. She has tattoos, short hair, and a ‘don’t-mess-with-me-attitude.’ She knows who she is, loves who she is, and couldn’t care less what the rest of the world thinks of her. And since she has the most kick-ass best friend on the planet, Noah Clark, even when family drama gets in the way, nothing can offset her happy-go-lucky demeanor.

Until television star Nate West comes along. All thick muscle and alpha-male testosterone. When Ellie meets him on an airplane the only thing Nate West should be good for is a brand new profile picture on Facebook. Right? Wrong. Turns out he’s good for so much more.

This man is going to flip everything Ellie thought she knew about herself upside down.

 

***NA Romance. This novel is the second book in the Kill Devil Hills series, however it can be read as a standalone. Recommended for 18+

add-to-goodreads-button

 

My review 3

Why did I want to read it?

Ellie is sister to the heroine and best friend to the hero in Kill Devil Hills. It was mentioned in the first book that she’s a lesbian and then I read the blurb for Changing Tides and I was like, how will that go? So consider me intrigued and very much wanting to know what happens to Ellie.

 

What worked for me?

I really liked Ellie and Nathaniel. They are genuine people. I love that they are flawed just like all lovable and believable characters but as you get to know them even better, you love them more despite the flaws because they are genuinely good people.

This is the first story where I read about this particular set-up, wherein a lesbian begins to question herself when she suddenly finds herself very attracted to a man. This was basically the selling point of the book for me  because I haven’t read anything quite like this situation yet and I was so curious as to how the author would treat this topic. Suffice it to say, I was really satisfied with how Ellie eventually treated this issue. I wouldn’t want to spoil it for you guys but I just want to say that it was very inspiring to see Ellie make her realizations on this.

The romance was surprisingly cute because of its freshness. There’s that tentative feeling of new beginnings that add to the romance. But don’t get me wrong, the ‘good times’ were intense and whew! like bring-me-some-cold-water hot, but at the same time very sweet and sincere too. I do have a little reservation about how fast their romance developed. But having said that, I can still feel the sincerity in their feelings toward each other so I was able to roll with it, so to speak.

 

What did not work for me?

I had a little problem with the ‘Ben’ issue. I’m sure author Sarah Darlington will tackle this more down the road in this series so we would get to know him more. But at the moment, I couldn’t understand how he could have done what he did to his family so I’m not a fan of his.

 

My over-all take on it?

You’re going to enjoy reading about Ellie and Nathaniel. And yes, you wouldn’t want to miss out on what happens to their relationship. There were serious gems throughout the book, one of which is the genuine quality in terms of emotions and personality that the story was able to give me as a reader. And despite the tiny bit of reservations I had with how fast the romance developed, I still did enjoy reading this book very much.

 

My rating:

3-5 stars 

 

DisclaimerI received an eARC of this book from the author/publisher in exchange  for an honest review. Yes, these are my honest and personal thoughts on this book.

 

 

 

About the author

sarah darlingtonSarah Darlington lives in Virginia with her husband and two-year-old son. She’s a former flight attendant, navy brat, constant day-dreamer, wannabe photographer, and an avid scrapbooker. She loves to travel and is working on visiting all 50 states.

Connect with Sarah Darlington:

Website  |  Facebook  |  Twitter  |  GoodreadsInstagram

 

 

Giveaway

 $15 Amazon GC

 

 

 

More Sarah Darlington on the blog:

Kill Devil Hills (Kill Devil Hills #1)

He Belongs With Me
Leo Maddox

 

 

Have you read any of Sarah Darlington’s books before?

One thought on “e-ARC Review & Giveaway: CHANGING TIDES by Sarah Darlington”

I would love to read your thoughts on this post.

