e-ARC Review: TOUCH & GO by Mira Lyn Kelly

 

touch & goTitle: Touch & Go (Dare to Love #2)
Author: Mira Lyn Kelly
Release Date: February 17, 2015
Genre: Contemporary, romance, adult fiction
Source: eARC provided by Loveswept via Netgalley
Buy Links: Amazon US | B & N | Kobo | iTunes | Google

USA Today bestselling author Mira Lyn Kelly cranks up the heat for two lifelong friends whose most secret longings come true in every delectable way.

Vivacious and successful, Ava Meyers is living her dream life, except for one thing: Ever since childhood, she’s been in love with her best friend . . . and she’s never admitted it. Back then, Sam Farrow was a damaged young man with a tough past. Now he’s supremely confident, super-sexy, and totally untouchable—until the night when Sam pretends to be Ava’s boyfriend to save her from some unwanted attention. In a moment of weakness, Ava finds out that a long friendship is no match for blistering sexual chemistry.

After years of denying his own feelings, Sam finds that one amazing night with Ava isn’t enough to chase away all the pent-up fantasies. So he proposes they spend a few weeks driving each other wild, exhausting their every desire, and then return to their perfect platonic relationship like nothing ever happened. But Sam’s plan has one fatal flaw: the part where they give each other up. Because the more they let go of their inhibitions, the more they’re tempted to never go back.

 

add-to-goodreads-button

My review 3

 

Why did I want to read this book?

I am always up to read a friends to lovers story and this one sounds promising and juicy to boot. And I haven’t read any from this author yet so I’m also curious about her writing style and her stories.

 

What worked for me?

Gosh, this was such a heartfelt story to read. Ava and Sam have been best friends since they were kids, when Sam has been a constant in the Meyers household. And even though a lot of people have constantly asked them if somewhere along the way to adulthood, their friendship had turned to something more, the truth is that it never really did. Until something did happen.

I’ve read a lot of best friends to lovers stories. It’s one of my favorite romance tropes to read about. And I have to say that this one stands out in terms of the kind of friendship these two have. Their foundation is so solid, so steadfast, and so true. It’s one of my favorite things about this book, other than the romance, that is. From the present, to the flashbacks, we’re really shown how these two have held each other’s backs since time immemorial. And because of this, I, as a reader, do get and completely understand the monumental shift that one night would have to their friendship, to their relationship, even if both of them tried their best to deny it.

Ava and Sam were so adorable together. And when the sexy times happened, gosh, the pages were on fire, I tell you. On fire! A little spoiler realization from me: I will never look or read about a tools belt the same way ever again. I wanted to so much for their happy ending to happen, especially for Sam, who has struggled with all kinds of relationship woes, family and the romantic-kind alike, since his friendship with Ava is one of the most sacred things in his life.

 

What did not work for me?

This was a great read for me although I did find the bit towards the end part a little too overkill. SPOILERS ALERT: I get that Sam had a really hard time coming into grips of the bomb of a secret Ava dropped on him but I did he kind of overreacted already and it dampened the happy ending for me.

 

My over-all take on it?

This was a great first read of Mira Lyn Kelly for me. I really like her writing style and characterizations and the sexy times and sweet moments that she wrote were absolutely spot-on great. This wouldn’t be my last Mira Lyn Kelly book, that’s for sure. If you’re in the mood for a good bestfriends-to-lovers story, try this one out.

 

My rating:

 4 stars

 

DisclaimerI received an eARC of this book from the author/publisher in exchange  for an honest review. Yes, these are my honest and personal thoughts on this book.

 

 

About the author

mira lyn kellyUSA Today bestselling author Mira Lyn Kelly grew up in the Chicago area and earned her degree in Fine Arts from Loyola University. She met the love of her life while studying abroad in Rome, Italy, only to discover he’d been living right around the corner from her back home. Having spent her twenties working and playing in the Windy City, she’s now settled with her husband in rural Minnesota, where their four beautiful children provide an excess of action and entertainment. When she isn’t reading, writing, or running to keep up with the kids, she loves watching movies, blabbing with the girls, and cooking with her husband and friends.

Connect with Mira Lyn Kelly:

Website | Facebook | Twitter | Goodreads | Pinterest

 

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “e-ARC Review: TOUCH & GO by Mira Lyn Kelly”

    1. There’s just really something unique about the friendship of our two MCs here so if you love a friends-to-lovers story, then I really suggest reading this one, Iza! 🙂

      Like

I would love to read your thoughts on this post.

