Review: BLUE LILY, LILY BLUE by Maggie Stiefvater

 

blue lily, lily blueTitle: Blue Lily, Lily Blue (The Raven Cycle #3)
Author: Maggie Stiefvater
Release Date: October 21, 2014
Publisher: Scholastic Press
Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy, Supernatural
Source: book bought
Buy Links: Amazon | B & NIndiebound | Kobo

There is danger in dreaming. But there is even more danger in waking up.

Blue Sargent has found things. For the first time in her life, she has friends she can trust, a group to which she can belong. The Raven Boys have taken her in as one of their own. Their problems have become hers, and her problems have become theirs.

The trick with found things though, is how easily they can be lost.

Friends can betray.
Mothers can disappear.
Visions can mislead.
Certainties can unravel.

 add-to-goodreads-button

My review 3

Why did I want to read this book?

Because the Raven Cycle series is one series I almost missed reading and now I get to read Book 3. I can’t get enough of Blue and her Aglionby boys.

 

What worked for me?

I can’t say this often enough. But for me, Maggie Stiefvater is a master storyteller. I bow down to her genius. She obviously loves her craft as much as her fans do and this third book is like a gift from the alter of Maggie. lol 🙂 I loved everything about it: to the plot twists, the new characters, the discoveries, the building up of so many emotions. It was reader’s heaven.

I’ll basically leave this review spoiler-free and lacking of plot information because it’s so much better to read it by yourselves. Trust me. Let’s just say that the stakes are getting higher and higher. The motivations of each person in finding Glendower, the Welsh King, become clearer, others more sinister, and the rest, just positively swoon-worthy and epic-feels-inducer. The friendship between and among Blue and her Aglionby boys are given such stark relief, some of the scenes make me want to applaud because the weight of it in my heart is so powerfully awesome.

 

What did not work for me?

Where the hell is Book 4? lol 🙂

 

My over-all take on it?

This was my favorite book out of the three so far, more particularly because of **(BluSey)** but also because of the awesome friendship that is portrayed here. I want more. And I can’t believe it’ll be months before book 4 becomes available.

 

My rating:

5 stars 

 

About the author

I am Maggie Stiefvater. I write books. Some are about dead Welsh kings. Some are about werewolf nookie. Some are about neither.

I have been a wedding musician, a technical editor, a portrait artist, and, for several fraught weeks, a waitress. I play several musical instruments (most infamously, the bagpipes), I still make art, and I recently acquired and unacquired a race car.

I live in the Shenandoah Valley in Virginia with my husband, my two children, some cows, three dogs who fart recreationally, a criminally insane cat, an interminable number of miniature silky fainting goats, and one 1973 Camaro named Loki.

I like things that go.

Connect with Maggie Stiefvater:

Website | Facebook | Twitter | Blog | Tumbler | Instagram

 

 

 

More Maggie Stiefvater on the blog:

The Raven Boys (The Raven Cycle #1)
The Dream Thieves (The Raven Cycle #2)

Have your read the Raven Cycle series? (Btw, in case you haven’t noticed yet, I loved it! And you should definitely read it.)

3 thoughts on “Review: BLUE LILY, LILY BLUE by Maggie Stiefvater”

I would love to read your thoughts on this post.

