Cover Love: The Legend of Lyon Redmond by Julie Anne Long

 

Cover Love

 

 

Cover Love is a new feature I’m starting here on the blog and it’s basically me gushing on a book cover I’m crazy about.

I’ll be sharing all the elements I love about the cover. I hope you guys enjoy it too!

 

 

I’m going to do my first post of Cover Love with a genre that is really close to my heart. I love reading Historical Romances. It’s one of my go-to genres and a lot of my favorite authors are writers in this genre. When it comes to the covers, it can be said that the book covers of historical romance novels have evolved a great deal. Lately, what I’m loving about their covers are the vibrant colors and the dresses: the lovely, beautiful dresses that the heroines on the cover are always wearing. But then there comes a time when one among many would standout in its uniqueness. Last year, it had been the cover for Sarah MacLean’s Never Judge A Lady by Her Cover.

Now, it’s Julie Anne Long’s THE LEGEND OF LYON REDMOND!

the legend of lyon redmond

Let’s just take a moment to appreciate the beauty of this cover…

And now let me count the ways:

  1. The dress. Because yes, I still love seeing beautiful dresses on the covers of my historical romance books and the choice for the red color certainly made everything better, right?
  2. The skin, or less of it. I don’t begrudge a show of skin, it’s sexy as all hell but sometimes the subtlety can be sexier. And it this case, I really appreciate the understated skin exposure, especially for the hero. And it makes sense given the backdrop, right?
  3. The backdrop of sea. It would be a little spoiler-y but if you’ve read the previous book before this, you’re already clued in on this one. But in a more aesthetic viewpoint, the sea/ocean right there is just beautiful.
  4. And last but definitely not the least, not by a long shot: the embrace. Obviously, it’s my favorite element of the cover. Most historical romance novels, if not all, would have a degree of this element on their covers, especially if you have both the hero and the heroine on the cover. And there’s always that air of sexiness to them. But this one, it’s still sexy in its own way but the most striking about it is that it’s filled with such strong affection and love. You can practically imagine the scene leading up to this shot, of the heroine running to the hero’s arms, him catching her, they holding on to each other like lifelines. It’s there in the band of his arms around her waist, her arms around his neck, the hero’s upturned face and closed eyes. There’s so much love in this shot, it’s flabbergasting. And I absolutely love it! Now, if you’re a fan of this series, as I am, then you know how this story feels like it has been a very long time coming indeed. And the cover just resonates so perfectly with it. I feel in my bones that this book is going to break me when I read it.

 

The Legend of Lyon Redmond releases on September 29th. You can click on the cover for the Goodreads blurb.

 

What do you guys think about this cover? Are you a fan of JAL’s Pennyroyal Green series like me? What are your favorite historical romance book covers?

 

7 thoughts on “Cover Love: The Legend of Lyon Redmond by Julie Anne Long”

  1. I love this cover too. To me, it expresses the joy of the couple being reunited after so long. Lyon is a hot blond, can’t wait for this story. It’s what started it all, and I guess it’s the last in the series. I need to get caught up before it’s released. I’ve been stuck on The Notorious Countess Confesses, #7 I think. Too many other books on my plate. And JAL’s books aren’t exactly fast reads.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I love the Pennyroyal Green series and the covers! JAL’s books are a must-read for me. But probably my favorite historical romance cover is Sarah MacLean’s No Good Duke Goes Unpunished! Just the green color and the dress….love it as much as I love The Legend of Lyon Redmond’s cover!!

    Liked by 1 person

I would love to read your thoughts on this post.

