e-ARC Review: IT STARTED WITH A SCANDAL by Julie Anne Long

it started with a scandalTitle: It Started With A Scandal (PennyRoyal Green #10)
Author: Julie Anne Long
Genre: Historical, Romance
Publication Date: March 31, 2015
Source: eARC from publisher via Edelweiss
Buy Links: Amazon | B & N 

Lord Philippe Lavay once took to the high seas armed with charm as lethal as his sword and a stone-cold conviction: he’ll restore his family’s fortune and honor, no matter the cost. Victory is at last within reach–when a brutal attack snatches it from his grasp and lands him in Pennyroyal Green.

An afternoon of bliss brings a cascade of consequences for Elise Fountain. Shunned by her family and ousted from a job she loves, survival means a plummet down the social ladder to a position no woman has yet been able to keep: housekeeper to a frighteningly formidable prince.

The bold and gentle Elise sees past his battered body into Philippe’s barricaded heart…and her innate sensuality ignites his blood. Now a man who thought he could never love and a woman who thought she would never again trust must fight an incendiary passion that could be the ruin of them both.

add-to-goodreads-button

 

My review 3

Why did I want to read this book?

I’ve become a follower of Julie Anne Long’s Pennyroyal Green series and I will see this series through to the finish line. lol!

 

What worked for me?

This is exactly the slow-burn romance that I was craving for during the time I was reading the book. There wasn’t really any ‘big’ drama or conflict in the book. Don’t get me wrong. There was some conflicts they need to overcome but it wasn’t epic in proportions and I find it refreshing this time. If I can describe it in short terms, this was a story that was great in its simplicity. It was sweet, so, so sweet.

I can’t help but feel deep affection for Philippe and Elise. Philippe, with his almost smiles and his charm, his devotion and kindness of heart, is a true hero. Elise, on the other hand, is a spunky and fiery heroine. She’s a woman who doesn’t shy away from her feelings and desires that was pretty refreshing for me to read as well. But she still knows her responsibility and where her faith and loyalty would lie. Of course, her love and devotion for her son is admirable but the way that she was able to see through Philippe was also a great thing to read.

I love their conversations, their honesty, always their honesty with each other and how they treat each other without malice or calculation. I also love how they weren’t really bothered with putting a label to what they’re feeling or starting to feel, they just genuinely let these feelings wash over them. They just feel them. Period. The struggle doesn’t end there but it was another refreshing take on the obstacle that they have to overcome. There was no histrionics or drama about how their circumstances or differing stations are keeping them apart. They were so mature about it and they acted as how I believe mature adults would have acted. It was just wonderful to see that in the characters.

I loved JAL’s prose as usual. My connection to her writing fell a bit on the short end in her previous book, whose story I found entertaining but somehow lacking that spark I’ve come to expect from her. But now I’ve connected well to her writing again and I thoroughly enjoyed reading this whole book.

 

What did not work for me?

There wasn’t anything, really.

 

My over-all take on it?

I just loved this refreshing story. It’s not something I haven’t read before but I love JAL’s treatment of the plot and especially the characterizations in this book. Like I’ve mentioned earlier, the key to my enjoyment and appreciation of this book aside from its freshness is its simplicity and no-big-drama plot.

And oh my gosh, the next one will be the last book in the series, poised to become one of the most epic love stories in historical romance since it’ll be Lyon’s and Olivia’s story. I’m almost afraid to read that.

 

My rating:

4 stars

 

DisclaimerI received an eARC of this book from the author/publisher in exchange  for an honest review. Yes, these are my honest and personal thoughts on this book.

 

 

About the author

JulieAnneLongJulie Anne Long originally set out to be a rock star when she grew up, and she has the guitars and the questionable wardrobe stuffed in the back of her closet t prove it. When playing to indifferent crowds at midnight in dank clubs lost its, ahem, charm, she realized she could incorporate all of the best things about being in a band—namely, drama, passion and men with unruly hair—into novels, while at the same time indulging her love of history and research. So she made the move from guitar to keyboard (the computer variety) and embarked on a considerably more civilized, if not much more peaceful, career as a novelist.

Julie lives in the San Francisco Bay Area with a fat orange cat. (Little known fact: they issue you a cat the minute you become a romance novelist.)

Connect with Julie Anne Long:

Website  |  Twitter  |  Facebook  |  Goodreads 

 

 

 

More Julie Anne Long on the blog:

Between the Devil and Ian Eversea (Pennyroyal Green #9)

Interview #1

 

 

What do you think of slow-burn romances? Have you read Julie Anne Long’s Pennyroyal Green series? Do you have a favorite?

 

3 thoughts on “e-ARC Review: IT STARTED WITH A SCANDAL by Julie Anne Long”

  1. Yay for slow-burn romances! It’s nice for the characters not to face huge obstacles – sometimes little conflicts are all that is needed. Elise sounds like a character that I would love but the honesty you’ve described appeals to me the most. Relationships with honesty always end up being my absolute favourites so I can’t wait to read this book!! Great review 🙂

    Zareena @ The Slanted Bookshelf

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Zareena. I hope you’ll enjoy this one when you read it. I just really love how refreshing this story feels. And yes, the honesty and low-key drama were really the highlights of the story and the romance for me.

      Like

I would love to read your thoughts on this post.

