Let’s Talk About… Much-hyped books!

COFFEE(1)

 

Books that receive much hype excite me and yet intimidate me at the same time. Because, as with reading all other books, there’s that element of expectation and an element of possible disappointment. There’s always that chance that even though a lot of people love a book, it doesn’t automatically mean you’ll like it too.

It’s partly reassuring in that a lot of readers obviously loved the book…

At the very least, you know that a lot of people have read and loved the book so there must be some truly remarkable things about it, right? I can find this really helpful especially when I’m looking for new books to add to my TBR list. If a lot of people have enjoyed reading a book, the merit is there no matter where the readers may find it, since a book can be enjoyed through so many elements of the story.

Is there such a thing as an over-hyped book?

I’m wondering if there is such a thing as an over-hyped book? Because when it all comes down to it, it’s a matter of subjectivity, right? Readers would enjoy what they would enjoy regardless of the hype. The hype does come from the enjoyment of the book. I think it will be a fine line depending on how you look or how you enjoy a certain book.

When you’re part of the minority…

I’m thinking we’ve all been a part of this at one point or another. There’s this super popular and much-loved book or series. It may even have its own fandom. Unfortunately, you’re just not feeling it like they do. I know I’ve been in this situation before, the most recent one is for Sarah J Maas’ Throne of Glass series. I wanted so much to love this series but it was just okay for me. But I do know that this series has a lot of fan following and I completely respect that. Because there’s something really special when a reader can’t help but spread his or her love of a book to other people because they wanted to share the wonderful experience they’ve had while reading the book. And I completely get that.

What are your thoughts on these…

How do you feel about much-hyped books? How much of your decision to read a book depend on how much hype it has? Or does it even factor in your decision as a reader? Have you been in that situation where a lot of people you know loved a book but you weren’t just feeling the love? 🙂

 

Let me know what you guys think… 🙂

 

8 thoughts on “Let’s Talk About… Much-hyped books!”

  1. I’m always cautious when I see praise everywhere about a book/series. When a book really tempts me… I check the bad reviews to see what those readers didn’t like, it helps me make up my mind 🙂 I didn’t like 50 shades, but ever heard about the Throne of glass ? That series is hyped, I was a little reluctant to read it because it’s YA and it often has a “too young” feel for my old self, yet I have to admit that I’m now part of the Throne of glass hype, lol !

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Now that I think about it, I do check out the negative reviews too. 🙂 with the throne of glass, I think I built up high expectations, like in specific elements, that when I read the book and it wasn’t quite like what I initially imagined then that was the time that it felt like just an OK read for me. I’m still a little reluctant about reading her other series but maybe in the future I will be reading her books again. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I definitely agree Camille!! It honestly depends if the book interests me other than being super popular. For example I have yet to read Hunger Games, because when the books first came out, they didn’t really appeal to me very much. So when it comes to super hyped books, I look at the synopsis, and ask myself would this interest me if It wasn’t popular. Great post

    Like

  3. I’ve always been a bit behind the 8-ball when it comes to reading the latest and the greatest (hence the name of my blog). And usually if I get sucked in like I did with Seeker earlier this year, I get burned. But then you find a really awesome book like Ink & Bone by Rachel Caine that deserves every bit of hype. It’s so tough, but I try not to get sucked in!

    Terri M., the Director
    Second Run Reviews

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I don’t mind book hype at all and don’t really think you can over-hype a book because it means that for a lot of people that book is freaking epic. On the other hand, there have been books which have been majorly hyped and I didn’t love it, I only enjoyed it. That can be slightly disappointing. But in general, I like hype 🙂

    Zareena @ The Slanted Bookshelf

    Like

I would love to read your thoughts on this post.

