Let’s Talk About… Authors who have branched out into different genres

COFFEE(1)

 

I read a lot of genres, mostly of the romance kind. I love me my romance. But there are a lot of different kinds of genres out there for as many as readers can appreciate them. I enjoy reading historical, contemporary, paranormal, young adult, new adult, women’s fiction kinds of stories. And for each genre, I would have my favorite authors. And there are times when an author you’ve been reading for one genre comes out with a new book in a completely new genre.

When authors branch out into other genres…

I only know a couple of authors who have decided to branch out into other genres. Nalini Singh, whose a powerhouse in the paranormal romance genre with her Psy/Changeling and Guild Hunter series, started to publish books in the contemporary romance genre with her Rock Kiss series, which are very, very enjoyable reads as well. Another favorite author of mine, Courtney Milan, whose historical romance novels are ones I hold to the highest standards because she just keeps pushing beyond the boundaries, has released her first contemporary NA romance this year. Lauren Layne, another favorite author of mine, was initially publishing in the adult contemporary romance when her editor asked her if she wanted to write NA novels as well. In the beginning, she had no idea what NA even was but now she writes one of the most enjoyable NA novels for me. And lastly, Kristen Callihan, whose paranormal series has gotten much love, has also branched out into writing NA novels, which is becoming one of my go-to NA series at the moment.

What happens to our reader’s expectations?

When you’ve loved an author’s works within a specific genre that they have become your standard of excellence and high expectations, you can’t escape that tiny, tiny feeling of apprehension when they decide to branch out to a completely different genre. But at the same time, there’s this excitement because you know your favorite authors are spreading their wings more and in any case, you’ll probably read everything so long as they are the ones who wrote it. For me, I knew in my reader’s heart that I love these authors’ writing style so the excitement gets stronger because I was looking forward to how they will use those same writing style on a different genre.

And the magic is still there…

And I’m so happy that the magic is still there despite the different genres. Other people may not have the same outcome but for me, so far, the authors I love who have branched out have done such an awesome job. There might be some birth pains, so to speak, in some of the elements, but I still believe that there are learning curves and lessons in the new paths that they’ve forged so I’m still waving my flags of support.

What are your thoughts on these…

Do you have authors you’ve loved in one genre who decide to branch out and write in a different genre? Did you read those works too? Did you love those? Did they meet your expectations? Do you have authors who you wish would write in another genre?

 

Let me know what you guys think… 🙂

 

10 thoughts on “Let’s Talk About… Authors who have branched out into different genres”

  1. I love this post!! It depends on the author. There are some authors out there that can switch genres like Nalini Singh or Lisa Kleypas and do a fantastic job whichever genre they write in. But Then there are some authors that change genres and it just doesn’t work that well.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Unfortunately, after J K Rowling’s success with Harry Potter, lots of authors jumped on the children’s lit bandwagon, knowing absolutely nothing about writing for children. The overwhelming majority, although excellent authors in their own adult genres, produced utter rubbish. You’re either born a children’s author, or you’re not. Can’t be learned, I’m afraid. One can always tell, what an author is most comfortable with. Thanks for a thought-provoking post. Incidentally, most book marketing experts agree that it’s not a good idea to dilute a readership’s expectations of an author’s genre and target audience. It mostly disappoints and puts off existing readers.

    See J K Rowling’s recent efforts to write for adults as a perfect example. Critics panned her adult book, and it only made it onto the BBC as a TV series because of the author’s general popularity, not for its literary quality.

    Like

    1. I think that there’s a common misconception about children’s books that a lot of people think that just because they’re written for children, it’s easier to write them, which is completely untrue. And I completely get that from a marketing perspective, it’s a good strategy to write in a genre where you’ve already established your niche. I also think J.K. Rowling is a special case. Because Harry Potter has been such a huge phenomenon that you can’t really think of J.K. Rowling anymore without thinking of Harry Potter. If she wants to write more books, it’ll probably be tough for her no matter what genre she chooses to write in and even more so if she write another children’s book/YA book. Thanks for sharing your lovely thoughts 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Nalini Singh is a favorite author of mine, I love her writing and the warmth of her characters 🙂 I haven’t tried any paranormal by Kristen Callihan yet but would dearly love to !

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ditto on Nalini Singh. I haven’t read her for that long. I think I just discovered her 2 or 3 years ago but a year never goes by when I don’t re-read at least three of her books. I’ve only read the first book in Kristen Callihan’s paranormal romance but I would like to continue reading through that as well.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I really appreciate this post. I am an author myself, and I have a few story ideas that branch from YA fantasy to Chick-Lit, to Woman’s fiction. I do worry about confusing my audience… So It’s nice to know that it can be done… Thanks for posting this!

    Like

I would love to read your thoughts on this post.

