Let’s Talk About… Re-reads!

COFFEE(1)

 

For book lovers like us, there’s truth in “there’s no such thing as too much books”. But at the same time, we feel the pain (don’t we all?) of not having enough time to read all the books we want to. And when there are books after books being added to your TBR file, there’s that question on whether to re-read something you’ve already finished. For others, it’s a dilemma. For some, it’s not even a question.

When it’s just too good…

Speaking for myself, I definitely re-read my ultimate favorites. But even in this limited ‘bookshelf’, there are those particular books that I re-read every year. These are the books that no matter how many times I read them again, they are still magical. My favorite re-reads are Nalini Singh’s Psy/Changeling series, particularly Dorian’s (Hostage to Pleasure), Hawke’s (Kiss of Snow), and Judd’s (Caressed by Ice) books. They never fail me. They still take my breath away. Another favorite re-read of mine is Susan Elizabeth Phillips’ Match Me If You Can and This Heart of Mine. These are basically my comfort reads.

When re-starts give you a second chance…

When a first reading of the beginning of the book is leaving you with disappointment that’s it’s too tempting to not finish the book, or you aren’t just feeling any of the elements in the book, in these cases, I usually just stop reading, pausing really, and leave it aside for a time being. To be honest, I particularly do this if I’ve loved all the other books I’ve read before by an author. And I found this really helpful because I often realize that in some cases, it wasn’t really the book but my state of mind at the moment when I first started on the book. Sometimes, after the failed first or second starts, I would get into the book and it would turn out to become one of my favorite books.

When the feeling is gone…

I guess there will be times when re-reads would fail you in the sense that the magic of that first read is nowhere to be seen that second time around or it was just a little less spectacular than you first thought it was. Because let’s face it, sometimes, nothing will beat that first reading when everything is new, when you have zero idea what will happen with the story. But then, you hold on to these feelings only to miss them even more when you re-read the book. It’s a little saddening when this happens, right?

Another reason why this can happen, and for this I speak from my own experience, is that you’ve basically changed as a person. You had different views, maybe had less experiences when you first read the book but you’ve changed and have become this different person and the way you viewed the book you’ve re-read has also changed. It’s basically seeing the book with a new pair eyes.

What are your thoughts on these?

Do you re-read? When do you do re-reads? What books get included in you re-read list? Do you have the same experiences as I did when it comes to re-reads?

 

Let me know what you guys think… 🙂

 

8 thoughts on “Let’s Talk About… Re-reads!”

  1. I love rereading the psy-changeling series! It’s one of those paranormal series that I keep coming back to and love to read again.
    One of my other rereads is Blue Eyed Devil by Lisa Kleypas. I swear, I reread that book every few months and love it more and more each time!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Nalini Singh is a wonderful writer and Judd is one of my favorite characters of hers 😀 I noted Match me if you can – I need some fun ! I don’t usually re-read – too many books waiting for me, but I have one exception : Jane Eyre, I’ve read it 8 times, years apart, and always discover something new – that, or I have changed along the years. There is one book I’m planning to re-read because it sort of was in a series and I read it first, so I went back and read the previous novels, now I’m looking forward to reading it again. I’m re-reading Ray Bradbury’s Something wicked this way comes because it’s the book that made me fall in love with this writer some decades ago. Apart from those, I rarely re-read… I work in a library, lots of temptations, so it doesn’t help !

    Like

  3. I love this blog post, I’ve been having this debate w. myself. I read a TON of YA books over the summer for my YA Librarian class and I was kind needing a break from the YA world so I decided to take a re-read break w. some of my adult series favorites. So I’m working my way through Kresley Cole’s Immortals After Dark series for probably the 5th time, and I just got a ton of Nalini Singh’s pay/changeling on audiobook so I’m “re-reading/listening” to them on my commute. I’m on Caressed by Ice now, which is my favorite favorite….Judd…sigh lol

    Like

  4. I enjoy re-reading, but I don’t do it as much as I wish. I guess I feel guilty about taking time to re-read rather than read some of the new releases out there. I have been trying to not feel that way this year and have done a few re-reads. My favorites to re-visit are The Viscount Who Loved Me by Julia Quinn, Match Me If You Can, and Lover Awakened by JR Ward.

    Like

I would love to read your thoughts on this post.

