e-ARC Review & Giveaway: HOW FOREVER FEELS by Laura Drewry

How Forever Feels_CoverTitle: How Forever Feels (Friends First #4)
Author: Laura Drewry
Genre: Contemporary, Romance
Publication Date: October 13, 2015
Source: eARC from publisher
Buy Links: Amazon | B & N | iTunes | Kobo

From USA Today bestselling author Laura Drewry comes a warm and witty new Friends First novel—perfect for readers of Jill Shalvis and Susan Mallery. How Forever Feels is a sweet tale about the one that got away . . . and the one that came back.

Maya McKay’s heart is as big as Jack Rhodes’s shoulders are broad. Their chemistry is out of control, but it could never work between them because Jack is more than just best friends with her cheating ex-husband—they’re like brothers. Maya, the sensitive, practical florist, has given up on love and is ready to settle for like. But now that Jack’s around again, he’s stirring up old feelings—and turning Maya’s fantasies into irresistible reality.

Jack blew his chance with Maya years ago when he stepped aside for his best friend, Will, and he’s still kicking himself about it. Maya was promised forever once before, and she got burned. But when Jack realizes that second chances aren’t going to fall out of the sky, he seizes the moment—and the woman he’s always loved—to show her how forever truly feels.

 

add-to-goodreads-button

Follow the Tour HERE.

 

My review 3

Why did I want to read this book?

We’ve met Maya in the previous books and we know about her heartbreak over her cheating husband. So I am so ready for her to get her true forever.

 

What worked for me?

First off, I really enjoyed that the chapters start with a quote from the TV show Friends. I’m a big fan of the show so I recognized all of them.

On to the story, I would say that this was a bit of a tricky and complex set-up because the hero is best friend to the heroine’s cheating ex-husband. And while it might seem like a cliche, I actually loved how author Laura Drewry treated this situation. On the surface, it might only seem like a forbidden thing, this relationship between our main characters, and up to a certain point, it was. But the author did a really good job of injecting that emotional weight that gave the plot and the romance a complex and attractive quality to it. Jack and Maya had a lot of obstacles to overcome but I love how these were not those simple black-and-white easy decisions that they have to make. The nuances to their conflicts were what brought great depth to their characters and to their love story.

I love how the story explores questions on themes such as loyalties, of being in an impossible situation, friendships and family ties.

Jack is this truly upstanding hero. He’s been holding a torch for Maya for years. And to be honest, I always love stories where the hero feel in love first or is in love with the heroine longer. Maya, I felt for acutely. I just hate cheaters, in books and especially in real life. Infidelity is such a hateful act really, for me. So I completely sympathize for her even in the earlier books when we first found out about her husband’s affair. But I love that she was able to move on and she got over her husband 100% even before the hero comes back into the picture. There’s this running obstacle for her characterization that I really loved. This was when she has started doubting herself and her decisions because of the failure of her marriage. She thought she had married her forever but she could not have been more wrong. And now she hates that because of that, she’s been second-guessing herself. How can you not feel for her after hearing that?

We also get to see the rest of the gang again. So that’s always a happy occurrence.

 

What did not work for me?

Nothing, really. Except that I really don’t like Maya’s ex-husband and the woman he cheated on her with. This has nothing to do with the author’s writing and more of like, on principle, I hate them for their affair.

 

My over-all take on it?

Overall, this was a really great addition to this series. I love the complexity of the situations even if at times I was pulling my hair out trying to think of a solution where they can be both happy and guilt-free. But trust Laura to give it to her readers good and still keep it all real.

 

My rating:

4 stars

 

DisclaimerI received an eARC of this book from the author/publisher in exchange  for an honest review. Yes, these are my honest and personal thoughts on this book.

 

 

About the author

Laura_DrewryLaura Drewry had been scribbling things for years before she decided to seriously sit down and write. After spending eight years in the Canadian north, Laura now lives back home in southwestern British Columbia with her husband, three sons, a turtle named Sheldon, and an extremely energetic German shepherd. She loves old tattered books, good movies, country music, and the New York Yankees.

Connect with Laura Drewry:

Website | Facebook | Twitter | Goodreads

 

Giveaway

Select Loveswept Ebook Bundle


 

 

Other books in the Friends First series:

plain jayne Prima Donna ACCIDENTALLY IN LOVE_Cover   

 

 

More Laura Drewry on the blog:

Plain Jayne (Friends First #1)
Prima Donna (Friends First #2)
Accidentally in Love (Friends First #3)

 

 

What do you think of the-one-who-got-away romances? Have you read Laura Drewry’s books? Are you following this series of hers?

 

Advertisements

One thought on “e-ARC Review & Giveaway: HOW FOREVER FEELS by Laura Drewry”

I would love to read your thoughts on this post.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s