Review: The Q by Beth Brower

 

Title: The Q
Author: Beth Brower
Publishing Date: October 19, 2016 (Rhysdon Press)
Genre: Fiction, Historical
Source: bought Kindle ebook
Buy Links: Paperback | Ebook 

CAN QUINCY ST. CLAIRE KEEP THE Q?

A dying man with a scheme
A charming smuggler one step ahead of the law
A former foundling with a mangled hand
A family of kingmakers
A printing tycoon
A constable on the trail of justice
An idealistic solicitor with secrets of his own
&
The genius at the center of it all, Quincy St. Claire

add-to-goodreads-button

 


My review 3

Why did I want to read it?

One of my favorite book bloggers, Angie @ Angieville included this one in her list of Best Reads of 2016 and I initially went to check out the blurb. As you can see from above, it doesn’t offer quite much information. But since it’s in her list and I’ve discovered some of my favorite books and authors through her, I decided to give this one a go.

 

What worked for me?

This book, you guys! This book! It worked for me on so many levels. It’s been a while since I’ve been torn between wanting to finish a book because it’s so good and not wanting to finish a  book because it’s so good.

I don’t know how much about the plot I should reveal but I guess it would be safe for me to at least tell you that Quincy, our main character, is the chief operating officer of The Q, a publishing company that prints questions, and only questions on its almost daily paper. Her life is all about The Q and The Q lives and thrives because of her genius. And it seemed like nothing will ever take The Q from her. But in a turn of events, there is now the real risk of losing The Q. Okay, I’ll stop there and say no more. The knowing is much sweeter when it’s a personal process. So, go buy and read this book.

The characters, they will pull at you, even if try to resist. Quincy, I felt the most pull from. Her words, her thoughts, her heartbreaking strength, her genius mind, her view of the world… gosh, I could go on. In a way, I feel this way because I relate to her so much. Readers might find her off-putting, especially in the beginning, but that’s what the story is there for; to reveal these characters to us as the story progresses. And my gosh, you are going to fall in love with these characters: from Fisher, Ezekiel, Jade, Spense, Lady Fothergil, Crow, and Arch. Oh, Arch!

The writing is one of the most enjoyable that I’ve read recently. Not that I was able to read much these past few months. But it was like a breath of fresh air.  Maybe it was how the story flowed from one paragraph to the next or even from one chapter to the next. Maybe it was all those amazing dialogues! Those are some of my favorite things! Those exchanges are gold. But the overall was just magic. Simply put, I loved it.

 

What did not work for me?

Only that it was already finished when I wanted to read on and on and on.

 

My over-all take on it?

I know that I love this book. I know that I love these characters. I know that this will stay with me for a long while. I know that I’m so glad that I bought this book. And I know that this is already one of my favorite reads for 2017. So if you’re looking to treat yourself to a good read, please, please, do consider this one.

 

My rating:

 

 

About the author

Like many of my siblings, I would sneak out of bed, slip into the hallway, and pull my favorite books from the book closet. I read my way through the bottom shelf, then the next shelf up, and the shelf above that, until I could climb to the very top shelf, stacked two layers deep and two layers high, and read the titles of the classics. My desire to create stories grew as I was learning to read them.

Subsequently, I spent my time scribbling in notebooks rather than listening to math lectures at school.

I graduated with a degree in literary studies, and have spent several years working on the novels that keep pounding on the doors of my mind, as none of my characters are very patient to wait their turn. I currently live in Orem, Utah, with my wonderful chemist husband, and books in every room of the house.

Connect with Beth Brower:

Website | Facebook | Twitter | Instagram

 

 

 Have you read Beth Brower before? Are you at least interested in reading The Q? (Please say yes. Please say yes. lol!)

 

I would love to read your thoughts on this post.

