e-ARC Review: READY TO RUN by Lauren Layne

 

Title: Ready to Run (I Do, I Don’t #1)
Author: Lauren Layne
Publishing Date: August 22, 2017 (Loveswept)
Genre: Romance, Contemporary
Source: e-ARC from publisher
Buy Links: Kindle | Nook | iBooks | Kobo | GooglePlay

The Bachelor meets The Runaway Bride in this addictive romance novel about a reality TV producer falling for her would-be star: a Montana heartthrob who wants nothing to do with the show.

Jordan Carpenter thinks she’s finally found the perfect candidate for Jilted, a new dating show about runaway grooms: Luke Elliott, a playboy firefighter who’s left not one but three brides at the altar. The only problem? Luke refuses to answer Jordan’s emails or return her calls. Which is how she ends up on a flight to Montana to recruit him in person. It’s not Manhattan but at least the locals in Lucky Hollow seem friendly . . . except for Luke, who’s more intense—and way hotter—than the slick womanizer Jordan expected.

Eager to put the past behind him, Luke has zero intention of following this gorgeous, fast-talking city girl back to New York. But before he can send her packing, Jordan’s everywhere: at his favorite bar, the county fair, even his exes’ book club. Annoyingly, everyone in Lucky Hollow seems to like her—and deep down, she’s starting to grow on him too. But the more he fights her constant pestering, the more Luke finds himself wishing that Jordan would kick off her high heels and make herself comfortable in his arms.

add-to-goodreads-button

 


My review 3

Why did I want to read it?

It’s a brand new series from one of my all-time favorite contemporary romance authors. I’ve loved all her series before so I was pretty sure this series would be no different.

 

What worked for me?

First, let me say how much I enjoy small-town settings for romance novels. I am a city girl through and through so I haven’t really experienced life in a small town. There’s just something about a tight-knit community, the pacing of life, the quality of relationships (not just romantic) that a small-town setting brings to the table in a story such as this. And Lucky Hollow was such a dream. For me, it was the perfect set-up for Luke and Jordan. My favorite bit were the (good-natured) know-it-all, don’t-know-any-boundaries, nosy-as-hell residents of Lucky Hollow. I love them to bits.

I just love how everything progressed and this is all thanks to Ms. Layne’s expert commandeering of the story and character development. My favorites are always the quiet talks, deep conversations and of course the signature banters of our main characters; how swift and smooth a scene can transition between light and serious and everything just works.

As for the conflicts, I loved how Lauren Layne crafted the individual ones and the one central to the romance. I might run the risk of saying too much, but I will say that the one that touched me the most was Jordan’s. I love that whole arc by itself.

 

What did not work for me?

I am not loving that book cover. I don’t know, it’s not doing anything for me. I don’t feel Luke and Jordan when I look at that cover. Other than that, I love this book.

 

My over-all take on it?

There’s something to be said when an author continuously is able to give her readers her brand of romance and yet never fails to make each story its own kind of magic. And this book is no different. It has that funny, heart-tugging, deep-hearted romance that we’ve all come to love from Lauren Layne and at the same time, this is Luke and Jordan’s love story and no one else’s, you know what I mean? It’s familiar and yet unique. Love it!

 

My rating:

4-5 stars 

 

DisclaimerI received an eARC of this book from the author/publisher in exchange  for an honest review. Yes, these are my honest and personal thoughts on this book.

 

 

rainbow-agenda

“Nobody was inside?” she asked.

He shook his head. “Nope.”

“Not even a pet.”

He gave a little smile. “You were hoping to see me save a cat?”

“Have you?” She smiled back. “Saved a cat?”

He winced and looked away and she gasped. “Oh my gosh, you have, haven’t you? You’ve saved a freaking cat. You couldn’t be more perfect if you tried.”

His eyes locked on hers, and Jordan backpedaled. “Not perfect for me. I meant for the show…”

 

About the author

LaurenLauren Layne is the USA Today Bestselling author of contemporary romance.

Prior to becoming an author, Lauren worked in e-commerce and web-marketing. In 2011, she and her husband moved from Seattle to New York City, where Lauren decided to pursue a full-time writing career. It took six months to get her first book deal (despite ardent assurances to her husband that it would only take three). Since then, Lauren’s gone on to publish ten books, including the bestselling Stiletto series, with several more on the way in 2015.

Lauren currently lives in Chicago with her husband and spoiled Pomeranian. When not writing, you’ll find her at happy hour, running at a doggedly slow pace, or trying to straighten her naturally curly hair.

Connect with Lauren Layne:

Website | Facebook | Twitter | Goodreads

 

 

More Lauren Layne on the blog:

Love the One You’re With (Sex, Love, & Stiletto #2)
Just One Night (Sex, Love, & Stiletto #3)
The Trouble With Love (Sex, Love, & Stiletto #4)

Only With You (The Best Mistake #1)
Made For You (The Best Mistake #2)

Broken (Redemption #1)
Crushed (Redemption #2)

Isn’t She Lovely

Frisk Me (New York’s Finest #1)

Blurred Lines

Irresistibly Yours (Oxford #1)

Interview #1
Interview #2
Interview #3

Guest Post #1

 

 

 Have you read Lauren Layne’s books? (You should! ^_^) Are you as excited about this new series as I am?

 

I would love to read your thoughts on this post.

