Top Ten Tuesday (31): Top Ten Books for YA and Contemporary Romance Newbies

d32cf-toptentuesday2

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by the gals at The Broke and the Bookish

I’m going to do a split version for this week and do a top five for YA books and another top five for Contemporary Romance books. So here we go…

Top Five Books for YA Newbies…

 

Jellicoe Road
JELLICOE ROAD by Melina Marchetta. My general belief is that everybody should read this book at least once in his/her life. 🙂 It’s an amazingly woven, poignant, and powerful story. Here’s my attempt to REVIEW this.

 

fangirl
FANGIRL by Rainbow Rowell. If you need an initiation to the YA genre, you’ve got to try Rainbow Rowell’s YA books.

 

since you've been gone
SINCE YOU’VE BEEN GONE by Morgan Matson. I love the plot and character development in this one. It was great being with Emily in her journey of discoveries.

 

the winner's curse
THE WINNER’S CURSE by Marie Rutkoski. This is a historical fantasy variation of YA, whose story presents sides that you will have a hard time choosing over. Here’s my REVIEW.

 

queen of attolia
THE QUEEN OF ATTOLIA by Megan Whalen Turner. This is actually the 2nd book in The Queen’s Thief series and my favorite. But I would still recommend reading the series in order to get that full impact of MWT’s genius.

 

Top Five Books for Contemporary Romance Newbies…

 

chocolate temptation
THE CHOCOLATE TEMPTATION by Laura Florand. Talk about great build-up, wonderful characterizations and character development, and just lovely, lovely romance. This is my favorite but all of her books including the rest of the Amour et Chocolat series are amazing. Here’s my REVIEW.

 

all fired up
ALL FIRED UP by Kate Meader. One of my favorite contemporary romance heroines is Cara DeLuca. I love how raw, and sometimes painful, her emotions are and it was so satisfying to watch her fall in love, despite her reservations. Here’s my REVIEW.

 

satisfaction
SATISFACTION by Sarah Mayberry. Saray Mayberry really knows how to tell a story and how to tell it well. Her heroes are to die for and her heroines are amazing: independent, strong-willed, and completely likable. Here’s my REVIEW.

 

the story guy
THE STORY GUY by Mary Ann Rivers. This is Mary Ann Rivers’s debut work and is actually a novella. But gosh, the emotions that she was able to draw from me as a reader! You wouldn’t want to miss this one.

 

match me if you can
MATCH ME IF YOU CAN by Susan Elizabeth Phillips. SEP does romantic comedy like nobody’s business. Bust a side laughing or run your mental voice course with all the internal sighing of ‘aww’ and you have that great formula that SEP gives to her readers. Here’s my REVIEW.

 

 

There you go. My Top Ten Tuesday for this week. What are yours? Leave your link in the comment section and I will definitely check them out.

 

16 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday (31): Top Ten Books for YA and Contemporary Romance Newbies”

    1. They’re some of my favorites of all time too! 🙂 I really enjoyed Since you’ve been gone. I still find myself smiling whenever I think of certain scenes in the book 🙂

      Like

  1. I really need to read Jellicoe Road. I have heard so many wonderful things about it! 🙂 I am reading Since You’ve Been Gone soon and I can’t wait!

    Like

    1. Jellicoe Road has become one of my favorite books of all time. I actually can’t wait to re-read it this year! 🙂 I hope you’re enjoying Since You’ve Been Gone 🙂

      Like

  2. I’m not a big YA fan so I’ll have to try some of these. Since You’ve Been Good is definitely appealing. I do love a contemporary romance and you’ve listed a few authors I haven’t tried. I’ve been curious about Sarah Mayberry and Susan Elizabeth Phillips is a long time favorite. I’ll definitely have to look for The Chocolate Temptation.

    Like

  3. I loved Fangirl, it made me really happy reading it.. I haven’t read any of the others, but I am planning on reading The Winner’s Curse and Since You’ve Been Gone (whenever I stop singing the song in my head that is).. ^^

    Like

  4. The title “Match me if you Can” literally made me laugh out loud, very cute 🙂
    Some of these look interesting. I wish you’d broken it up between ones that lean more towards “romance” and ones that lead more toward “sex,” because one I wouldn’t mind trying and the other I would. 😉
    Here’s my list. I’ve started doing them on YouTube as an
    experiment. Like and comment if you get a chance. 🙂

    Like

I would love to read your thoughts on this post.