Feature & Follow Friday (5): Favorite Books of 2013

FF_2013Button

An awesome idea to make friends in the blogosphere, Feature & Follow Friday is hosted by Parajunkee & Alison Can Read. It’s a great opportunity to find and follow new blogs. Every week, they feature bloggers on their sites and we get to learn more about them as they answer some questions. Each week also features a question that we can share our answers to.

 

Question of the Week: 

What were your favorite books of 2013?

This one’s a tough question because 2013 has been such as an amazing reading year and I have a lot to choose from. But I’ll try to limit the list to my top ten reads of 2013. For more of my reading highlights of 2013, please check out my Year-in-Review post HERE.

 

The Countess Conspiracy by Courtney Milan

13489925This is one of the last books I’ve read for the year and it had seemed such a long wait but it was so worth it. This book is perfection: emotionally-stirring, unconventional but heartfelt, just really, really great story writing from one of my favorite authors.

 

 

 

Hostage to Pleasure by Nalini Singh

05 hostage to pleasureI can’t believe I just read this book early this year. It seems like it has been a favorite of mine for a very, very long time now. I believe I’ve read this three times already just in 2013. I wonder how many times I’ll re-read it this year.

 

 

 

 

Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell

16068905This book felt so full and complete to me. The story comes in full circle and you know every word and every event took place because of a purpose and Rainbow Rowell tells the story this way. This was a fantastic read.

 

 

 

Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell

15745753Oh, this book. I didn’t know what to expect from this book when I started reading it. I had a slight inkling that it would be about young love and the challenges that young adults face like peer pressure, bullying, the good and bad of first love, but this book was so much more than that. It totally blew me away. Blew. Me. Away.

 

 

 

The Story Guy by Mary Ann Rivers

17411704This is a novella but it didn’t feel like one. And that’s in a good way. Mary Ann Rivers has created such characters and this wonderful setting that’s refreshing.

 

 

 

 

One Good Earl Deserves a Lover by Sarah MacLean

one good earl deserves a loverCross and Pippa are two of my most favorite characters in 2013. They’re both a little bit on the eccentric side and at first glance they wouldn’t seem to have anything in common. But Sarah MacLean has given her readers such a precious gift in the love story that she has weaved between these two characters. It was such a journey reading about them finding each other.

 

 

Any Duchess Will Do by Tessa Dare

15724338This is the first that I’ve read by Tessa Dare and it surely won’t be the last. I loved how she was able to take something a bit conventional for a plot and yet was able to still write a unique and positively addicting story with her very own twists sprinkled throughout the book.

 

 

 

The Chocolate Touch by Laura Florand

160336692013 was also the year I discovered Laura Florand and she just keeps getting better and better with every book she releases. The Chocolate Touch features one of the most unique male protagonists I’ve ever read and I just love his characterization.

 

 

 

All Fired Up by Kate Meader

16173214Kate Meader is another new-to-me author and she’s close to becoming an auto-buy author for me. I’m loving her writing style and the characters that she has created.

 

 

 

Lola and the Boy Next Door by Stephanie Perkins

9961796Lola and Cricket. I love these characters to bit. I really enjoyed watching their story unfold. How their past and present are slowly revealed in the book. It was such a joy to read about them.

 

 

 

There you go. Those are my favorites. What about yours? Leave a comment and your link below and I’ll definitely check them out.

Don’t forget to check out the other blogs participating in this feature. Head over to Parajunkee and Alison Can Read.

 

email-300x180  bloglovin-300x180

Or if you can, follow me via Twitter and like my Facebook page too.  🙂

 

 

 

 

 

 

14 thoughts on “Feature & Follow Friday (5): Favorite Books of 2013”

  1. Those are some excellent books. I love Nalini Singh’s Psy-Changeling series. Dorian/Ashaya are one of my favourite couples and it was REALLY good. (I read it really long ago but I believe there’s a pretty awesome cabin scene?) Also, I think we can agree that Rainbow Rowell is basically amazing 😀
    As for Lola? *robot-voice* Must. Fangirl.
    I have read that book a few *cough*million*cough* times and the characters are just so ADORKABLE. The romance is slow and sweet and GAH I must read it again.

    My FF: codenamebookworm.wordpress.com/2014/01/03/feature-and-follow-friday-2/
    Oh and new bloglovin follower because we have similar tastes in books 🙂

    Like

    1. Aww, it’s great that you love Lola and the Boy Next Door. Just as you said, the characters were just Adorkable. Love that term. Thanks for the visit and the follow.

      Like

  2. Such a fabulous list! I have Fangirl and The Countess Conspiracy on mine. I also enjoyed One Good Earl Deserves a Lover and Any Duchess Will Do. I just started Laura Florand’s chocolate series late in 2013 so I’m hoping to read The Chocolate Temptation soon. Old follower.

    Happy Friday!

    Like

I would love to read your thoughts on this post.