Top Ten of 2014: Best Couples of 2014

top ten of 2014

Top Ten of 2014: A Week of Looking Back is a year-end meme hosted by Jamie @ Two Chicks On Books, Rachel @ Fiktshun, Mindy @ Magical Urban Fantasy Reads, and Nancy @ Tales of a Ravenous Reader

It’s Day 3 and it’s Blogger’s Choice! For my post, I am counting down my top ten best couples of 2014. This list includes couples from books I’ve read this year regardless of publication dates.

I’m a romance junkie, no doubt about that. It’s rare for me to read anything that has no romance in it so I’m pretty familiar with all kinds of couples. I’ve ‘met’ a lot of them over the years and here are just some of the best from the bunch this year.

 

Juliette & Warner

shatter me unravel me ignite me
from the Shatter Me series by Tahereh Mafi. Easily one of the best this year. This pairing felt like one of those things that I’ve dreamed about for so long since I started reading. I know not everybody agrees and I respect that. But I’m just so glad Tahereh Mafi decided to make this happen.  (My review of Ignite Me)

 

taylor and jonah

jellicoe road
from the Jellicoe Road by Melina Marchetta. The connection between these two, it will blow your mind. I’m not just talking about chemistry, though these two definitely have that. I’m talking about how their lives are so intertwined, there’s just no running away from each other. (My review)

 

patrick & sarah

 chocolate temptation
from The Chocolate Temptation by Laura Florand. I love being inside this bubble they’ve created with each other. There were so much longing, so much emotions that it was difficult not to fall in love with these two. (My review)

 

arin and kestrel 2

 the winner's curse
from The Winner’s Curse by Marie Rutkoski. Talk about getting stuck between a rock and a hard place and then multiply that by a thousand, that pretty much sums up the weight of the conflict that these two must hurdle. But gosh, the way their relationship develops is one of the best I’ve read this year. (My review)

 

free & edward

 the suffragate scandal
from The Suffragette Scandal by Courtney Milan. Trust Courtney Milan to always deliver amazing sets of characters. Free and Edward were unique and you would just love them both for their strength, convictions, their hearts. (My review)

 

brent & hayden

 asking for trouble
from Asking for Trouble by Tessa Bailey. I love me an enemies turned lovers story and the tension between Brent and Hayden in the beginning of this book was amazingly off the charts. That smoke is definitely coming from a very big fire.

 

sam & drill

 rites of passage
from Rites of Passage by Joy N. Hensley. The romance was in the sidelines in this book but when it took center stage in those few moments, gosh, I was on the front row cheering them on. (My review)

 

maggie & rafel

  satisfaction
from Satisfaction by Sarah Mayberry. I know that the start of their ‘relationship’ is unique at best and questionable at worst but how it developed from there on just about had my heart in its grip. (My Review)

 

alex & emma

the trouble with love
from The Trouble With Love by Lauren Layne. The long wait is over and we finally learn the full scoop on Alex and Emma’s past and gosh, I thought I knew how it all turned out but I was in a bit of a surprise and gosh, all the FEELS that these two put me through!

 

AJ & Brett

 one night of trouble
from One Night of Trouble by Elle Kennedy. Elle Kennedy never disappoints. I knew this was going to be a sexy pairing but I didn’t know I would be so emotionally invested with these two as well.

 

Honorable Mentions:

midnight action leo maddox rock courtship cover cora-carmacks-all-lined-up murder of crows

Noelle & Jim from Midnight Action
Leo & Clara from Leo Maddox
David & Thea from Rock Courtship
Carson & Dallas from All Lined Up
Simon & Meg from Murder of Crows

 

There you go, my top ten best couples of 2014. Have you read any of these books? Which couples do you think would make your top ten list?

 

 

11 thoughts on “Top Ten of 2014: Best Couples of 2014”

    1. Oh my gosh! I’m so excited for you to read it! I hope you’ll enjoy reading about Patrick and Sarah and do tell me all about your thoughts when you’re done with the book 🙂

      Like

I would love to read your thoughts on this post.